The Editorial Team

Bambo Soyinka

Editor in Chief - Prof Bambo Soyinka

Prof Bambo Soyinka is Professor of Story and Director of The Research Centre for Transnational Creativity and Education at Bath Spa University.

Grace Palmer

Grace Palmer, Managing Editor

Grace is a writer and teaches creative writing, working with marginalised groups. Her short fiction and poetry have been published in literary magazines. Grace runs Novel Nights and Flash in Hand. She is a Visiting Fellow at Bath Spa University and has an MA in Creative Writing from Bath Spa University. Prior to her MA she worked as a press officer, writing and editing scientific articles.

Jayne Marshall

Jayne Marshall, Journal Editor

Jayne is a fiction and creative non-fiction writer. She holds the MSt in Creative Writing from Oxford University, with distinction. She has explored various topics in her stories and essays, such as language and identity, Palestine, and orthodontics. Her work has been published - in English and Spanish - in magazines and anthologies in the UK, Australia, the US, India and Spain. She lives in Madrid, Spain where she works as an editor.

Rita Horanyi

Associate Editor - Dr Rita Horanyi

Dr Rita Horanyi is a literary critic with an interest in literary modernism and modernity, theories of affect and melancholia, translation studies and Central/Eastern European culture, literature and history. She holds a PhD in Comparative Literature (specially examining melancholia in Hungarian literature and film under state socialism) and was a recipient of the Copyright Agency/Sydney Review of Books emerging critics fellowship. She has published essays and book reviews for Sydney Review of Books, Hungarian Literature Online and Imprint, and she is currently Newsletter Editor/Social Media Manager for Asymptote journal.

Alison Flett

Commissioning Editor - Alison Flett

Alison Flett was born and bred in Scotland where her poetry collection Whit Lassyz Ur Inty was shortlisted for the Saltire First Book of the Year Award. Since moving to Australia in 2010, her poetry and short stories have been published in many journals and anthologies and shortlisted for a number of awards including The Newcastle Poetry Prize, The University of Canberra International Poetry Prize, The Whitmore Press Manuscript Award, the Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Award and The Bridport Short Story Prize (UK). She is an arts reviewer for InDaily and publisher at Little Windows Press.

Elen Caldecott

Series Editor - Dr Elen Caldecott

Dr Elen Caldecott is a writer for children and young people and published ten novels with Bloomsbury, including How Kirsty Jenkins Stole the Elephant and the Marsh Road Mysteries Series. Her areas of interest are the opportunities and tensions of transnational and transcultural writing, specifically creative writing in a Welsh-English context, which formed the main focus of her PhD through practice. Her YA novel, The Short Knife, was the result of that research.

Ruth Starke

Section Editor: Prose - Dr Ruth Starke

Dr Ruth Starke has published over forty books for young people, including the award-winning NIPS XI (currently on the Fiction for Young Readers curriculum), Noodle Pie (2008) and the Captain Congo series of graphic novels. Her latest book is An Anzac Tale (2013), a graphic novel of Gallipoli. Her book on the history of Adelaide Writers' Week, Writers, Readers and Rebels, draws on her PhD research. She was awarded the Carclew Fellowship in 2002, and currently serves as a judge for the Adelaide Festival Literature Awards (Young Adult), and sits on the Arts SA Artists Grants and Awards panels.

Md Rezaul Haque

Section Editor: Translations - Md Rezaul Haque

Md Rezaul Haque teaches in the English Department at St. John’s University, New York. He received his PhD from Flinders University of South Australia, where he also completed an Endeavour Postdoctoral Research Fellowship in 2016. He co-edited The Shadow of the Precursor (Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2012) and guest-edited, with Gillian Dooley, a special issue of Gitanjali & Beyond on Rabindranath Tagore (2020). Reza has published internationally on Indian English fiction, Rokeya Sakhawat Hossain, Hasan Azizul Huq, Amitav Ghosh, and Jhumpa Lahiri. He is also a bilingual poet. His first book of Bangla poetry, Jolo Jane Kolahol, came out in 2020.

Sabrin Hasbun

Section Editor: Book Reviews, UK - Sabrin Hasbun

Sabrin Hasbun is an Italian-Palestinian transnational writer. She has always had to mediate between two cultures and every day for her is a journey across borders. She studied literary theory at the University of Pisa, the Sorbonne University and Bath Spa University where she is now finishing her PhD in Creative Writing and History in collaboration with Exeter University and with AHRC funding support. She has recently worked as writer, editor and translator for the Embassy of Palestine to the Holy See, the international journal Transnational Literature, and Tuscany Now and more.

Piper Bell

Section Editor: Book Reviews, Australia - Piper Bell

Piper Bell has an academic background in philosophy with a postgraduate research focus on the failures of feminism, as well as multiculturalism, liberty and activism. She is a member of research and teaching staff at Flinders University (Australia), working across multiple projects involving military veterans, wellbeing and bullying, and teaching topics that include the exploration of culture, globalisation, ethics, education, ethnographic research and preparatory academic training. She has proudly been a part of the editorial team of Transnational Literature since 2017.

The Advisory Board

Dr Hussein Alhawamdeh

Prof Pal Ahluwalia

Dr Nicole Anae

Prof John Clement Ball

Prof Edward Baugh

Assoc. Prof Meenakshi Bharat

Dr Nicholas Birns

Prof Elleke Boehmer

Prof Pradyumna Chauhan

Prof John Coetzee

Dr Emma Dawson Varughese

Dr R.K. Dhawan

Prof Frank Deena

Prof Dorothy Driver

Prof A.N. Dwivedi

Assoc. Prof Natalie Edwards

Dr Peter Fraser

Prof Sneja Gunew

Prof Nicholas Jose

Prof Feroza Jussawalla

Prof Ronald D. Klein

Prof Jeri Kroll

Assoc. Prof Chandani Lokuge

Prof Brian Macaskill

Dr Adnan Mahmutovic

Prof Faridah Manaf

Prof Alfredo Martinez-Exposito

Prof Brian Matthews

Prof Satendra Nandan

Dr Ioana Petrescu

Dr Aretha Phiri

Prof Mohammad Quayum

Assoc. Prof Lisa Ryoko Wakamiya

Assoc. Prof Meg Samuelson
Jaydeep Sarangi

Emeritus Prof Susan Sheridan

Prof Kirpal Singh

Prof Sidonie Smith

Prof Helen Tiffin

Prof Lily Rose Tope

Prof Harish Trivedi

Dr Kenneth Usongo

In Memoriam

Dr Syd Harrex and Prof Meenakshi Mukherjee